The PT License Process in Nevada

By Luna
The PT License Process in Nevada

How do you get your PT license in Nevada? It's worth researching since the median salary for a physical therapist in the state is $99.4k per year, with some making as much as $152.4k. Moreover, demand for physical therapists in Nevada is projected to grow 30.7% from 2020 to 2030, with 140 PT job openings annually. And since we're in the business of helping physical therapists grow their practice, we're sharing how to become licensed in The Silver State. Here are the basic steps:

Step 1: Earn your Physical Therapy degree

Step 2: Apply for a license through the Nevada Physical Therapy Board

Step 3: Pass the required exams for Nevada

Step 4: Maintain and renew your license

Let's get started!

Step 1: Earn your Physical Therapy degree

To become a licensed Physical Therapist in Nevada, you must obtain a Doctor of Physical Therapy (DPT) degree from an accredited school. Schools must be accredited through CAPTE (Commission on Accreditation in Physical Therapy Education.) As of this writing, the current list of accredited schools in Nevada are: 

Before enrolling in a DPT program, you must first earn a bachelor's degree, ideally with a major in health sciences. A Doctor of Physical Therapy (DPT) program typically takes three to four years to complete.

Step 2: Apply for a license through the Nevada Physical Therapy Board

The Nevada Physical Therapy Board oversees the licensing and regulation of physical therapy professionals. The Board offers detailed information regarding the application process on its physical therapist application page. When you're ready to apply for your PT license, the Board requires that you print out the application, complete it in full, and mail it to their office.

In addition to your completed PT application, the Board also requires the following:

  • Payment of the $325 application fee
  • A fingerprint submission for a background check
  • Your official transcript in a sealed envelope mailed directly from your school to the Board
  • A 2" x 2" passport-type photo of yourself taken within 60 days of your application
  • A completed Nevada Jurisprudence (Law) Examination (see below for test information)

Once complete, send your physical therapy license application to:

Nevada Physical Therapy Board

3291 N. Buffalo Drive, Suite 100

Las Vegas, NV 89129


Ten days after sending your application, you may request a status update via email to Include your full name and the last four numbers of your Social Security Number or Individual Taxpayer Identification Number in your email.

Step 3: Pass the required exams for Nevada

Passing grades are required on two exams to become a licensed physical therapist in Nevada. These tests are the National Physical Therapy Exam (NPTE) and the Nevada Jurisprudence Exam. 

National Physical Therapy Exam (NPTE)

This exam is offered through the Federation of State Boards of Physical Therapy (FSBPT.) The NPTE exam is a multiple-choice test consisting of 250 questions. One of the best ways to prepare for the NPTE is by taking a practice exam. When you're ready to take the official exam, take note of the NPTE eligibility requirements as well as the key dates and deadlines. You may register and pay online for the test via FSBPT's Customer Dashboard

Once you've registered for the exam, you'll receive an emailed Authorization to Test (ATT) letter from FSBPT (which is also available online on your Customer Dashboard.) Your ATT letter will direct you to contact Prometric to schedule a time to sit for the exam. 

Nevada Jurisprudence Exam

The Nevada Jurisprudence Assessment Module Examination (NV JAM) is included in the Nevada physical therapy license application. The NV JAM is an open-book test on the state's laws and regulations regarding the practice of physical therapy. Testers are required to answer 80% (16) of the questions correctly to pass the exam. You can find the answers to the questions in the Practice Act, specifically NRS 640 and NAC 640.

Step 4: Maintain and renew your license

All Nevada physical therapy licenses expire yearly on July 31 and must be renewed annually. 

Each licensed physical therapist must complete 15 hours of continuing competency units (CCU) within the year immediately preceding their renewal application. Review the Continuing Competency Model for details on meeting the minimum requirements for Certified Activities, Advanced Competency Activities, and Professional Activities. Note that you must submit documentation of all CCU activities for license renewal.

You may renew your license online or by completing a mail-in renewal application. Board staff will process your application and contact you via telephone for a credit card payment of your renewal fee. 

These are the main steps required for obtaining and keeping your physical therapy license in Nevada. For additional support, we recommend you contact APTA Nevada, the state chapter of The American Physical Therapy Association. The organization is an excellent resource for all PTs in the state. From all of us at Luna, we wish you the best of luck. And remember – we're always hiring and would love for you to join our team.