The PT License Process in Oregon

By Luna
The PT License Process in Oregon

How do you get your PT license in Oregon? It's worth researching since the median salary for a physical therapist in the state is $85k per year, with some making as much as $115k. Moreover, demand for physical therapists in Oregon is projected to grow 23.5% from 2018 to 2028, with 230 PT job openings annually throughout the state. And since we're in the business of helping physical therapists grow their practice, we're sharing how to become licensed in the Beaver State. Here are the basic steps:

Step 1: Earn your Physical Therapy degree

Step 2: Apply for a license with the Oregon Board of Physical Therapy 

Step 3: Pass the required exams for Oregon

Step 4: Maintain and renew your license

Let's get started!

Step 1: Earn your Physical Therapy degree

To become a licensed Physical Therapist in Oregon, you must obtain a Doctor of Physical Therapy (DPT) degree from an accredited school. Schools must be accredited through CAPTE (Commission on Accreditation in Physical Therapy Education.) As of this writing, the current list of accredited schools in Oregon are: 

Before enrolling in a DPT program, you must first earn a bachelor's degree, ideally with a major in health sciences. A Doctor of Physical Therapy (DPT) program typically takes three to four years to complete.

Step 2: Apply for a license with the Oregon Board of Physical Therapy 

The Oregon Board of Physical Therapy (OBPT) is the organization that regulates the practice of physical therapy in Illinois. They offer detailed information on their application process, laws, resources, and more on their physical therapy licensing page. There are several requirements for the application, so it's best to review it in detail before applying.

When you're ready to apply to become a Physical Therapist in Oregon, you must submit your application online. First, go OBPT Self Service Portal, then click on the Applicant Portal box. From there, follow the prompts for "New User." Once you're registered, you may proceed with your application. Note that the application will ask for all of the information listed below: 

Proof of graduation from a CAPTE accredited program 

Proof of graduation must come directly from your school. Contact your school to have your transcript sent to the board via email at

Complete a criminal background check 

The OBPT uses Fieldprint to conduct background checks. Fieldprint takes your fingerprints and sends them to the Oregon State Police to conduct an FBI background check. As part of your PT application, you'll receive a code to use when you register for your fingerprinting appointment. Once you have your code, schedule an appointment at 

Complete the Oregon Pain Commission's Pain Management Module

All PT license applicants must complete this one-hour online presentation administered by the Oregon Pain Commission. The module, Changing the Conversation about Pain: Pain Care is Everyone's Job, is free of charge. You must submit a copy of your completion certificate with your application, so be sure to save your certificate after you finish the module. 

The final step of the online PT application is to pay the application fees.

Step 3: Pass the required exams for Oregon

Passing grades are required on two exams to become a licensed physical therapist in Oregon. They are the National Physical Therapy Exam (NPTE) and the Oregon Jurisprudence Assessment Module (OR JAM.)

National Physical Therapy Exam (NPTE)

The NPTE is offered through the Federation of State Boards of Physical Therapy (FSBPT.) The NPTE is a multiple-choice test consisting of 250 questions. One of the best ways to prepare for the NPTE is by taking a practice exam. When you're ready to take the official exam, take note of the NPTE eligibility requirements as well as the key dates and deadlines. You may register and pay online for the test via FSBPT's Customer Dashboard

Once you've registered for the exam, you'll receive an emailed Authorization to Test (ATT) letter from FSBPT (which is also available on your Customer Dashboard.) Your ATT letter will direct you to contact Prometric to schedule a time to sit for the exam. 

Oregon Jurisprudence Assessment Module

In addition to the NPTE, all PT license applicants must take and pass the Oregon Jurisprudence Assessment Module (OR JAM.) This test ensures that all licensees have a working knowledge of the laws and rules governing physical therapy in the state of Oregon. To prepare, review the following:

Oregon Physical Therapy Law

Oregon Administrative Rules – Physical Therapist Licensing Board

Oregon JAM Content Outline

You can register for the OR JAM online via FSBPT, and the cost is $48. You must complete the module within 96 hours of purchase. When you're ready to take the test, you'll have 90 minutes to complete the exam's 50 multiple-choice questions. A passing grade of 80% or higher is required for licensure. Your score is available to view online and is also reported directly to OBPT by FSBPT.

Step 4: Maintain and renew your license

As a Physical Therapist in Oregon, you must complete 24 continuing education (CE) hours every two years by March 31 in even-numbered years. Note that there are two mandatory continuing competency courses: 

Pain Management - ​Licensees must take the Oregon Pain Management Commission's Pain Management Module at every renewal. 

Cultural Competence - Licensees must take, at minimum, a one-hour course in cultural competency. 

The renewal process has several components, including:

  • Submitting proof of the Continuing Competency courses you've taken, including the mandatory ones mentioned above. (See the OBPT Continuing Competency page for additional helpful information on CE.)
  • Updating your contact information, work information, and adding new information about your other licenses.
  • Attesting to the renewal declaration questions and providing any required documentation.
  • Completing the OHA Healthcare Workforce Survey (accessible from within the renewal itself.)
  • Payment of all renewal fees.

When you are ready to renew your license, go to the Licensee Portal section of the Self-Service Portal to begin the process. 

These are the main steps required for obtaining and keeping your physical therapy license in the state of Oregon. For additional support, we recommend you contact APTA Oregon, the state chapter of The American Physical Therapy Association. This organization is an excellent resource for all PTs in the state. From all of us at Luna, we wish you the best of luck. Remember – we're always hiring and would love for you to join our team.